Masakage Knives was founded in 2007 by Takayuki Shibata, one of Japan’s best knife sharpeners. I want to thank the staff at CKTG for your wonderful products at great prices. Still a very good knife for this price, would buy again for sure. The lacquer coating on the blade is quite thick and has several runs that add a lot of thickness to the blade. Overall, this gyuto cuts very well. I used strate acetone, but after a quick wash, I forced a patina using mustard with red wine vinegar added. Unfortunately, I had to remove the finish ( with state acetone from my local drug stor) but immediately followed it by forcing a patina using red wine vinegar a mustard.its my first try at it so it wasnt as pretty as others I've seen, but there hasn't been any trust to real with. Masakage Yuki Collection Handmade by Kato san Knife Care. I think this is a pretty high quality blade, but the initial grind was in the horrible category, with a large gauge in the bevel. The Blade of the Masakage Mizu is super thin and cuts like a razor. Masakage Kumo Gyuto 27 cm, This Japanese Chef's knife has a core of Japanese VG-10 stainless carbon steel with a very nice damascus pattern. Gyuto Knives are Japanese chef knives. Masakage Koishi knives are handmade with carbon steel and clad with stainless steel. This is my first Japanese knife and first purchase from CKtG! I've had this for about a week (11/29/16) and have used it daily as a prep and line knife, and I love it. 28 votes. Great service and quick shipping. The finish on the handle is kind of slick so if your hands are at all oily it's a problem, and it doesn't line up perfectly with the ferrule. It doesn't quite release as well as I'd hoped but it isn't bad. Masakage is a collective of knife makers whose goal is to produce beautiful and functional examples of handmade Japanese cutlery. Mark is great at answering questions for knife nuts of all levels. This blade makes prep work and other tasks a breeze. The pinnacle of performance and cra